Lullabies

Today, I am obsessed with lullabies. I think it was brought on by my reading a particular scene in The Hunger Games two days ago, and it’s just taken this long to catch up with me.

I’m absolutely enraptured by these beautiful, simple songs that convey a sense of calm and I-love-you. Some are wistful, some are whimsical, and some are just wonderful. And those are three of my favorite emotions.

Little wonder that I’m trying to remember and listen to a recording of every lullaby I’ve ever heard. If I find some confidence in my own ability, I may even try to write one…

Here are some that are haunting me right now:

The one that started it. Two versions. The first is supposedly the official one for the movie, the second is somebody’s beautiful alternate.

Then there’s this one from The Village:

Narnia. ‘Nuff said.

I’m calling this gorgeousness from The Return of the King a lullaby:

There’s this beautiful one from the Empire of the Sun soundtrack:

This is a favorite of mine from Michael Card’s Come to the Cradle lullaby album:

And this is sort of a lullaby by Carolyn Arends (only version I could find on YouTube):

I’ve always considered this Sky Sailing song to be a lullaby:

I said I was obsessed, didn’t I?

7 thoughts on “Lullabies

  1. Oh, I just love lullabies too, Jordan. 😀 I have a couple albums of them on my iPod… one never gets too old for them. 🙂

    • This post began because I was trying to come up with a list of movies/books where a character who is far too old to still need a lullaby has one sung to him during a particularly difficult time.

      My list was:

      • Holes
      • The Hunger Games
      • The Village
  2. I suppose “Go to Sleep, Little Creep” doesn’t count. 🙂

    But on the serious side, I like Psalm 4:8 and how it shows God granting sleep through His security. That concept would make a good lullaby.

Leave a Reply

