The Order They Come Out

In typical guy fashion, I don’t have any particular algorithm for choosing which shirt I wear each day. It’s generally a matter of which one is on top. Because I don’t pay attention to the order when putting them away, I don’t usually know which shirt will be worn on which day throughout the week. And to top it all off, I get dressed in the pitch dark every morning, so I rarely know exactly what I have on until I get to a room with some light.

Interestingly, this haphazard, serendipitous approach to what I wear has been used to remind me of people or events that I’ve sometimes needed to remember particularly that day.

See, I have some special shirts. There’s one that a very special girl gave me, there’s one I was given when I attended Proskuneo Worship Institute (PWI) last summer, and so on.

There have been days that I’ve been very aware of just how much I miss my girl, and sometimes she’s not around to e-mail me. Strangely enough, I’ve often realized in the midst of those days that I’m wearing the extra special shirt that she gave me. And it helps a little bit.

Often when I realize I’m wearing my PWI shirt, I’m reminded to pray for the people I met while I was there. Sometimes when that’s happened, I’ve found out later that one of them asked for prayer on Facebook.

I suppose it shouldn’t surprise me that God could use something as small as which shirt is on top in my drawer. I think He does, though. And that’s pretty cool.

Leave a Reply

